MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 248 GIRARD, KS DECEMBER 8, 2022

The Board of Education of Unified School District 248 met in the Board Office on Thursday, December 8, 2022. President, Roger Breneman, called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. Board members present were: Henry Ashbacher, Roger Breneman, Aaron Coester, Dave Goble, Lori Johnson, Peggy Marshall, and Kelly Peak. Also present were: Superintendent, Blaise Bauer; Clerk, Becky Mein; HS Principal, Todd Ferguson, MS Principal, BJ Pruitt; RVH Principal, Tina Daniel; RVH Assistant Principal, Joni Benso; Transportation Director, Rick Neil; Daryl Eagon-Diehl, Banwart, Bolton, CPA's PA; and 23 students.

Absent: Assistant HS Principal, Chris Swartz.

Lori Johnson moved, Aaron Coester seconded the motion for the approval of the agenda with addition #16B-Resignations/Retirements, approval of the minutes of the November 10, 2022 board meeting, approval of the treasurer's report and the bills be approved for payment, amounting to \$579,908.27. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Dave Goble moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to approve the following donation: 500.00-GNBank for the GHS FFA Program. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

No GMS Student Council Presentation

Kelly Peak moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to approve the USD248 Audit for fiscal year ending June 30, 2022 as presented by Daryl Eagon with Diehl, Banwart, Bolton CPA's PA. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Lori Johnson moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to approve the following KASB recommended Board Policies: GAAB-Complaints of Discrimination, GCRF-Non-School Employment, IDAB-Support Programs, IFA-Classroom Displays, JBE-Truancy, JDD-Suspension and Expulsion Procedures, JCE-Complaints of Discrimination, and KN-Complaints. Motion carried. 7 – 0.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, reviewed the New Graduation Requirements approved by the Kansas State Board of Education.

The update from the USD 248 Staff Sick Leave Committee was presented from their meeting which was held December 7, 2022.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, provided the facilities/construction updates report.

Lori Johnson moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter into Executive Session at 7:03 pm for a period of 15 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel under KOMA, with Board Members and the Superintendent present. Motion carried. 7 - 0. Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, was excused at 7:08 pm.

Back to regular session at 7:18 pm.

Lori Johnson moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter into Executive Session at 7:18 pm for a period of 10 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel under KOMA, with Board Members only. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 7:28 pm.

Lori Johnson moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to enter into Executive Session at 7:28 pm for a period of 20 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel under KOMA, with Board Members only. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 7:48 pm.

Dave Goble moved, Aaron Coester seconded the motion to approve the resignation of Lindsey Fox-RVH Long Term Substitute Teacher and the retirement of Blaise Bauer-Superintendent. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Peggy Marshall moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve the employment recommendation of Madie Krebs-RVH Long Term Substitute Teacher. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Principal's Reports in the Board Packets.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer, reminded the Board of the District Christmas Party on Tuesday, December 13, 2022 and the Board Member email accounts.

No Southeast Kansas 637 Interlocal report, as they have not yet met this month.

Lori Johnson reported from Greenbush to watch for upcoming events on Facebook.

Peggy Marshall moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 7:52 pm for a period of 15 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel-Superintendent Evaluation under KOMA, with Board Members and Superintendent. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 8:07 pm.

Peggy Marshall moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 8:07 pm for a period of 15 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel-Superintendent Evaluation under KOMA, with Board Members and Superintendent. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 8:22 pm.

Peggy Marshall moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 8:22 pm for a period of 10 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel-Superintendent Evaluation under KOMA, with Board Members and Superintendent. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 8:32 pm.

Peggy Marshall moved, Henry Ashbacher seconded the motion to enter Executive Session at 8:32 pm for a period of 15 minutes, for discussion of Non-Elected Personnel-Superintendent Evaluation under KOMA, with Board Members and Superintendent. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Back to regular session at 8:47 pm.

Dave Goble moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion for adjournment of the meeting at 8:47 pm. Motion carried. 7 - 0.

Becky Mein Clerk